Building the Ultimate Budget Linux Tablet part 2

This is part 2 to my buildup. If you need to read part 1, click here. Installing the OS I had thought long and hard about which Ubuntu-based Linux system I would use. My conclusion was to install Ubuntu 13.04 (64 bit), and then add different desktop environments to find which I liked best for the laptop. (I’m assuming everyone reading is familiar with installing Ubuntu; if not, you can read my article “Lubuntu: The Perfect OS for a Netbook or Older Computer.

”) While this was a great idea, it didn’t work out quite the way I planned. After installing Ubuntu 13.04, I began playing around with the system to make sure everything worked as it should. My biggest concern had been a non-functioning touch screen. Thankfully, the screen instantly recognized the digitizer-pen and functioned as it should. However, I had a problem when switched to tablet mode. There are four small buttons on the screen bezel of the laptop.

These were to control various functions while in tablet mode, including switching the screen from landscape to portrait orientation. None of the buttons worked. I tried creating a keyboard shortcut that would allow me to quickly switch to portrait mode, but this effort failed. So I began an Internet search for a solution. I soon found a piece of software for Linux systems that would allow those four buttons to work.

I downloaded the zipped file, and then spent the next four hours trying to get the software to install. It never worked. I finally found a message board post saying that this software didn’t work with any version of Ubuntu after 11.10. Back to the drawing board.After another long search, I found another possibility. This was a piece of software known as Magick Rotation, which would automatically sense when the screen was rotated into portrait mode and vice versa.

I found a few YouTube videos of people using the software, and it seemed to work well. So I went to the software website to download, and found another snag. The designer had yet to update the software to work with Ubuntu 13.04. Now what? I decided to re-install Ubuntu, this time lectores electronicos using version 12.04, which is the long term release. While I felt like a lot of time had been wasted, I did learn a lesson about the downsides to using the latest operating system release. After the installation of Ubuntu 12.

04, I installed Magick Rotation. This did take a bit of time, as this is a zipped file not an installation package, and I had some additional files that needed to be installed before Magick Rotation would function. However, after installation, Magic Rotation worked as promised. I then began to check other functions on the laptop, just be sure everything was working as it should. Everything seemed to work, so now it was time to add a few desktop environments to find what I liked on this convertible laptop.

Searching for a Desktop Environment Laptops and tablets have a similar problem..

If you loved this informative article and you would love to receive more information concerning comprar tablet please visit the page.

